Jeshua van Deijck

"Whatever you do, do it with passion"

 

I am Jeshua, 23 years old, and I live in Eindhoven. I was born with severe hemophilia A.

When I was born in 1992, recombinant products (formerly from blood plasma) had only just become available. Before that these products were prepared from bloodplasma, and there was a chance of contracting blood transmissible infections. Within 3 months after my birth they found out I have hemophilia, and luckily a very good treatment was started right away. During my childhood and adolescence I had very few bleeds, and because of that I never developed a weakness in a particular joint. Partly, this is also due to the fact that I'm a quieter person who would not easily engage in dangerous sports and activities.

3 years ago, on a special activities weekend for young adults, organised by the NVHP, I was asked if I wanted to do volunteer work for the association. This seemed like a fun complement to my daily activities, and I also find it super to give back to the club where I had a lot of fun as a child . Now, 3 years later, I am still busy with activities for the association as well as developing myself and finding my place in the world of blood clotting disorders.

When I was asked if I wanted to participate in a bike project, I didn’t need to think twice. I am a huge fan of cycling and find it one of the nicest things to spend my free time on. Nonetheless, I think the bike ride to Stavanger will be quite a challenge. Even though I cycle a lot, a journey like this will require a lot of preparation!

 

Minette

23 years old

 

Jeshua

Haemophilia A

Minette